Metal Type: Home | Library | Forum | Free Ads | Store

Metal type casting?

Started by Siobhán, April 26, 2013, 01:02:13 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Printle: A Printing Word Game from Metal Type

Siobhán

Hello,
I'm new here and about to ask what is probably a very silly question, so bare with my ignorance. I'm a graphic designer about to start a masters in creative media, and would love to design a type face and produce it  both digitally and in metal for letterpress. Haven't the first clue about how to do it, but have two years to figure it out. Cue silly question... Is there such a thing as an independent/artisan foundry that would cast a custom font?

That's it. Snigger at will :)

Dave Hughes

Hi Siobhan and welcome to the forum.

Your question isn't as silly as you may think.

"Tooling up" to create a new typeface certainly used to be a very costly and time-consuming process.

The digital revolution has brought many benefits, including a resurgence in interest in the letterpress process, but has it managed to streamline/simplify the process for producing a new font?

I don't know, but I'm sure there will be someone visiting this board who does.

Like you, I'm looking forward to finding out.
Printle: Word Puzzle for Printers Play Now

Keep in touch with Metal Type Get our newsletters

Siobhán

Hi Dave,

Thanks for replying so quickly. There's a small letterpress printworks about an hour from me. The woman who runs it has a Hidleberg (don't know exact model) - motorized with a kind of windmill action, from the 1950s I think. Do you or anyone else think wood block type would be viable? Or would wood block be just as difficult to manufacture as metal type?      Lots of woods/woulds in those sentences :)