Metal Type: Home | Library | Forum | Free Ads | Store

VanderCook proofpres

Started by canus, November 06, 2006, 08:15:48 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Printle: A Printing Word Game from Metal Type

canus

Hello all,

This is my first post and I would like too have your opinion. I'm thinking about buying a press. I'm a student (not grafphic design) and my knowledge is rather limited. I did it once and am very exited about the results. My question:

I am thinking ofbuying a VanderCook proofpress no 4  sn: 3216 . I have found some info at http://vandercookpress.info , but I would like to know if it is any good? Do you have one? Is it a good start (I think I could be mechanicly hanycaped, so I couldn't repair it easaly if it breakes).

I am going over too look at the press. What should I look or ask for or about this machine?

What kind of maintnence do I have to preform on a regular basis?

Thank you for reading.

Best, Terence

Dave Hughes

Printle: Word Puzzle for Printers Play Now

Keep in touch with Metal Type Get our newsletters

Dan Williams

If I were you, I would simply go out, buy a vandercook and get cooking :)

However, REALISTICALLY, I am not you and you are not me, so I do not recommend going out and buying anything yet. Lacking an apprenticeship of some form, you are going to have a real difficulty grasping basic concepts behind the system. I believe people take so much of his for granted and I also believe that many people think "Heck, its just inked type against paper, right?" hahaha. No.

In other words, if you go out and buy something, you are apt to get frustrated. Rather, get on with a letterpress group, take more classes, get in with someone who uses letterpress first, then you will be in a better and more knowledgeable position to use and buy a press later. Give it six months and then you will say HECK I would rather play golf, chess, raunchy CDs, etc etc etc, and more wisely spend your money.

OR you may be a printer.

canus