Metal Type: Home | Library | Forum | Free Ads | Store

Grape-Nuts for typesetters

Started by Mechanic, May 23, 2008, 06:25:20 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Printle: A Printing Word Game from Metal Type

Mechanic

When I was an apprentice, the printers assured me that their trip to the local pub between editions was to counteract the lead from stereo and type metal. I of course did not believe them, but I ran across this item written by Gene Gable on May 29, 2003 and I wonder if there is not some truth in the printers claim. He refers to a 1902 advertisement in "Good Housekeeping Magazine" for Grape-Nuts.

"I have been at the Linotype three years," said Mr. Eckhard. "It has made a great change in my once robust health. About three months ago, after long expecting it, I completely collapsed, from indigestion and extreme nervousness. The daily physic I had not dared to omit for years, now and then, refused relief and a physician was consulted."

I admit I had to look up what a "physic" was, though I suspected from the tone of Mr. Eckhard's letter and the nature of Grape-Nuts cereal that it had something to do with the bowels. Needless to say, his physician immediately recommended "change of diet," and the prescription of "eating Grape-Nuts food twice daily."

Thankfully, this keen advice did the trick. Reports Mr. Eckhard: "Since then have used Grape-Nuts, both at breakfast and supper, daily. The results are truly remarkable. The first appreciable change was in the matter of digestion. It has been six weeks since I have had to swallow an aperient of any kind. My nerves, which were completely shattered three months ago are now strong and steady, and I do not tire easily."

An "aperient," by the way, is a potion that aids in making sure you have your daily physic.