Metal Type: Home | Library | Forum | Free Ads | Store

Andy Taylors Elrod

Started by Dan Williams, July 25, 2007, 03:42:38 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Printle: A Printing Word Game from Metal Type

Dan Williams

Say, that is a very clean looking Elrod.

And its got an electric pot and electric mold heater. Cool. :)

Wonder if he's tried it out yet?

http://www.metaltype.co.uk/photos/photo82.shtml

URL to page with photos added - Admin

Dave Hughes

Andy said he's going to send some video of starting up, running and stopping.

Should be interesting! I've never operated one myself, but from what I remember, it was quite a hazardous affair!
Printle: Word Puzzle for Printers Play Now

Keep in touch with Metal Type Get our newsletters

Mechanic

When I was an apprentice as well as working as the night mechanic I had to run the Elrod machine.  One eventful night I remember I was running 3pt column rules when I was called to the composing room which was next to the Elrod room.  I got side tracked in the composing room and forgot all about the Elrod machine.  One of the comps said, George, you are being followed and I looked across and, coming across the composing room floor from the Elrod room was a very long 3pt column rule.  I went into the Elrod room and half the floor was covered with the column rule.  Being thin, the rule had failed to trigger the cut off stop.  I was standing there looking at this when my boss walked in.  I can't remember the conversation but I do know I was on the defencive.  From then on, I always stayed with the Elrod until I was sure the materials were being cut off correctly.
George Finn (Mechanic)
Gold Coast
Queensland
AUSTRALIA

Mechanic