Metal Type: Home | Library | Forum | Free Ads | Store

Hand Setting Research

Started by Inkstained, April 25, 2007, 01:28:36 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Printle: A Printing Word Game from Metal Type

Inkstained

I'm a writer. I'm working on a book about newspapers. In it I want to describe typesetting as it was done by hand in the early years of the 20th century. One of my characters was a one-man newspaper. He composed his articles by filling his stick. I'd be interested in corresponding with anyone who has that typesetting experience.

intertypeman

Not sure if your query about hand composing the news stories in metal as you compose them in your head is under the right topic heading for the best response. It certainly happened, but such people were uncommon, and if you are talking about the 1920s they will mostly be promoted to glory long since, so you are really looking to contact people who've done it more recently.

This forum is made up of people in quality rather than quantity, so if you haven't already done so, I'd suggest that you post your query on Letpress (if that's not burnt itself to the ground as a result of its habit of uncontrolled flaming) and maybe the Yahoo IntertypeWorld group too. Not sure how else you'd make contact with the people you want to correspond with.

On Letpress you'll need to think carefully about the subject heading you use, to encapsulate what you need in half a dozen words or so, and the thread will probably go on endlessly, but quickly diverting itself to some entirely different topic under the same original heading, unless they've cleaned their act up since I was there last.

Tony 

intertypeman

Sorry, I misread "in the early years of the 20th century" as "in the 1920s". Doesn't really alter the answer though.

Dave Hughes

I would imagine that a newspaper from that period, hand set by one man, would bear no resemblance to a modern-day paper, particularly in respect of size.
Printle: Word Puzzle for Printers Play Now