Metal Type: Home | Library | Forum | Free Ads | Store

First Elevator Problems

Started by Dave Hughes, August 04, 2014, 08:07:04 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Printle: A Printing Word Game from Metal Type

Dave Hughes

Hi Pete, we have plenty of Linotype engineers on the Forum.

What is the problem with the one at Cambridge?
Printle: Word Puzzle for Printers Play Now

Keep in touch with Metal Type Get our newsletters

Peter Stanners

When the first elevator goes up to transfer mats to the second elevator it doesn't come down tp the home position. Any clues?
Pete

Dave Hughes

Thanks for posting Pete, I've moved the post to Technical Help.

It might be relevant to post the Lino model number.
Printle: Word Puzzle for Printers Play Now

Keep in touch with Metal Type Get our newsletters

Bill Berkuta

I am a Lino machinist and can answer the questions about Linotypes.

Mechanic

Hi Pete, First elevator hanging at the transfer position can be dangerous to both machine and operator.

My experience is mainly with American Linotypes, but in this area I think they are the same.

Some of what I say you may already have tried. I'm assuming that the transfer takes place and that the second elevator takes the mats back up to the distributor. If this is not the case then it could be a vise automatic problem.
With the power off lift the first elevator up to the transfer position by hand and see if it wants to hang there.  Make sure that the first elevator head is not binding on the transfer channel. if it is you may need to reposition the gibes that guide the first elevator.